Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Day

Suggested resources based on topics sent to us.

World War I

World War I (WWI)

These are only some suggestions for the many topics you can research at the Connecticut State Library (CSL).

Note: Before World War II (WWII), World War I (WWI) was called The Great War, The War to End All Wars, The World War and other such names. It was not called WWI until after there was a second world war. Be sure to use variations in your subject terms when researching.

Museum of Connecticut History

Museum of Connecticut History

Article

Archives at CSL

Archives at Connecticut State Library (CSL)

Books, Documents, etc.

Books, Documents, etc.

Other Institutions

Other Institutions

Other Libraries

The Connecticut State Library (CSL) does not subscribe to the same paid databases, and access to some resources on other libraries' guides may not be available. A library card from CSL is required to access our subscription databases that have remote access. Many U.S. federal documents listed on the guides below will be available at CSL.

This is to just give some examples and ideas.

Connecticut State Council of Defense

Connecticut State Council of Defense

The "State Defense Council is Connecticut Agency of Federal Government. Appointed by Governor Marcus H. Holcomb to Mobilize State's Resources for War and Make Them Available to United States - It is Official Connecticut Arm of Council of National Defense." (Connecticut Bulletin, Vol. 1, no.1. July 13, 1917, p.1). The Council of National Defense was established by an act of Congress August 29, 1916. On April 26, 1917 Governor Holcomb issued a proclamation that appointed people to the newly formed state level council. His authority to do so came from Chapter 44 of the Public Acts of 1917. County and town auxiliary committees were also formed. More detail can be found in Connecticut Bulletin, Vol. 1, no.1. July 13, 1917 (ConnDoc St291c).

Be sure to  check our catalog and digital collections for more resources. Those selected below focus on the 2021 theme of communication, for the most part. Many items have been digitized.

Creel Committee

Creel Committee - Committee on Public Information (CPI)

The Committee on Public Information (CPI) is often called the Creel Committee, after Chairman George Creel. Sometimes it is called the Public Information Commission. Try searching additional terms as a phrase.

The National Archives site (NARA) states (see link below): "The Committee on Public Information (CPI) was established by Executive Order 2594 as an independent agency in April 1917.  The Committee consisted of the Secretary of State, the Secretary of War, and the Secretary of the Navy as ex officio members.  Its functions were to release news of the government, issue information to sustain domestic morale, and to publicize America abroad.  Domestic activities were discontinued after the Armistice in November 1918 and foreign operations were discontinued in June 1919."

Executive Order 3154 obsoletes Executive Order 2594 of April 14, 1917, which created the Committee on Public Information.

According to Words That Won the War (1939, see link below for more details), only about 25 % of the records of the CPI survived to be transferred to NARA (National Archives) in 1937 and "The Committee was so widespread in its ramifications that the collection touches nearly all phases of American and world affairs for the years 1917 to 1919." (p.viii).

The CPI had a foreign division and a home front division. Chronicling America might be a good resource to see how CPI put its message forth in newspapers.

Related: Woodrow Wilson, Military Intelligence Branch, Four Minute Men.

Note: Before World War II (WWII), World War I (WWI) was called The Great War, The War to End All Wars, The World War ,  and other such names. It was not called WWI until after there was a second world war. Be sure to use variations in your subject terms when researching.

Books, Documents, etc.

Be sure to search our catalog for Committee on Public Information. These are only a few examples of what we have.

Not all of our older documents are in our library catalog, so please contact us if you are looking for a specific federal publication or need help finding older state and/or federal documents.

Other Institutions

Women WWI

Women WWI

See also pages for Women and Women in the Military

German Americans

German Americans

WWI Medicine

WWI Medicine

Government Communications/Propaganda

Government Communications/Propaganda.

See other boxes as well, especially the Creel Committee and Connecticut State Council of Defense.