MAS Ultra: School Edition (High Schools)
Articles, historical images, maps and more selected for grades 9-12.
Academic Search Premier
Newspaper Source Plus
E-BOOKS, CATALOGS and READING
Nonfiction Book Collection – High Schools (2,700 titles)
Content from 2,700 nonfiction books for high schools. Not downloadable.
Nonfiction Book Collection – Middle Schools (3,200 titles)
Content form 3,200 nonfiction ebooks for middle schools. Not downloadable.
Nonfiction Book Collection – Elementary Schools (1,300 titles)
Content from 1,300 nonfiction ebooks for elementary schools. Not downloadable.
eAudio & eBooks
Over 2,900 nonfiction and fiction eAudio books and more than 800 eBooks that you can download to your computer for limited times. Apps are available for the iPhone, iPad, Android and Kindle Fire too. Holds and checkouts require a valid CT public library card number. K-12 users can create accounts from within their school buildings for checkouts and holds anywhere.
HISTORY, BIOGRAPHY and GENEALOGY
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
Offering the original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan.
Biography Reference Center
Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies
Connecticut Digital Collections
Search individually, or as a combined search, the digital collections of the Connecticut State Library, Connecticut History Online, Newspapers of Connecticut, Treasures of Connecticut Libraries, Central Connecticut State University's (CCSU) Digital Collections, and Southern Connecticut State University's (SCSU) Digital Collections.
Stories about the people, traditions, innovations, and events that make up the rich history of the Nutmeg State.
Search U.S. federal censuses, family and local histories, and primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, and probate records. Materials date back to the 1700s.
History Reference Center
For upper grades, secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. Full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. More than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Professional Development Collection
Full text for more than 500 high-quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals. Subjects include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, Teacher Education.
Legal Information Reference Center
Exclusive online full text for many top consumer legal reference books, full-text publications and legal forms, with more content added on a regular basis. Thousands of state-specific legal forms – searchable by top subject areas including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more.
HEALTH and SCIENCE
Developed by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health for consumers needing health information. Includes clinical trials, drug information and Spanish-language materials.
Developed by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Comprises over 22 million citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CT Consumer Health Information
Research service for CT residents with medical questions. Provided by the University of Connecticut Health Center’s Lyman Maynard Stowe Library.
2-1-1 Community Resources Directory
Listings for health and human service providers. CT residents may dial 2-1-1 for assistance, 24/7.
Connecticut Physician Profiles
Information about CT physicians.
Science Reference Center
For upper grades. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.