Skip to main content

researchIT CT - Information: researchIT CT Privacy Policy

researchIT CT Privacy Policy

researchIT CT Privacy Policy

Thank you for visiting researchIT CT, a service administered by the Connecticut State Library Division of Library Development. This service provides access to a number of licensed commercial databases in accordance with license agreements that define authorized users who are described at  http://libguides.ctstatelibrary.org/researchIT_CT/about-researchIT_CT/who-is-authorized. We are committed to ensuring your privacy while you are using this service. Please be assured that:

  1. With exceptions noted below (interlibrary loan requests and e-mail sent to researchIT CT staff), researchIT CT does not retain any personally identifiable information.
  2. The IP address of the computer that you are using to access researchIT CT is used solely for the purpose of validating that you are within a library that is authorized to access researchIT Ct, or that you are in Connecticut, and for statistical usage reports.
  3. Your library card number is used solely for the purpose of validating that you are a resident of Connecticut.
  4. Usage statistics are collected only in aggregate at the institution level and cannot be used to identify individuals

How researchIT CT Uses Your Library Card Number During Login

Our database vendors collect and store a variety of statistical data on how the site is used and which of their databases is being accessed and searched, but none of this data is correlated with individual users nor does the system capture information regarding specific searches.

Database vendors record what IP addresses visited their sites but do not record what was done or what content was accessed while at their sites. Although it is possible to determine who the owner of an IP address is (e.g., by using the freely available service at http://www.arin.net/), unless the IP address is a static IP address, the owner indicated will be the Internet Service Provider who assigned the IP address, not the individual using the IP address. Most IP addresses are dynamic, which means that they change each time you log into the system.

How researchIT CT Uses Cookies

Definition: "Cookies" are small bits of text (letters and numbers) that are either used for the duration of a session, or saved on a user's computer in a file named "cookies.txt" in order to identify that user (or information about that user).

The vendors who supply the licensed databases that require authentication to access will often place a cookie on the user's computer after the user logs in. The cookie will typically expire automatically after a predetermined time period (typically in 24 hours, but it could be as long as 30 days). The purpose of the cookie is to eliminate the need to go through the login procedure at the beginning of each new session, or when changing from one database to another.

Cookies are not used to collect personal information nor are they used to track search activities.

Use of Library Card Number in Making Interlibrary Loan Requests

[The Connecticut State Library is transitioning the statewide catalog to a new platform. We will update this section of the privacy policy when the system goes live.]

Other Information

The Connecticut State Library is not, and cannot be, responsible for maintaining the privacy or confidentiality of personal or personally identifiable information provided by a user to a third party, such as a data service licensed by the State Library for its users.

The Connecticut State Library requires that you provide personal information to enable us to respond to your Contact Us messages.  Your e-mail may be forwarded within the Library to employees who are better able to assist you, or to the vendor who may be able to help diagnose a problem or issue with the system, or to your home library. Apart from those exceptions, and other than for authorized law enforcement activities, the Library does not share e-mail with outside organizations without obtaining your permission. We are required by law to retain your e-mail for two years, as specified in the State Agencies' Retention/Disposition Schedule S1 located at http://ctstatelibrary.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/GL2009-2-EmailManagement.pdf

researchIT CT contains links to other independently run Web sites outside the "researchitct.org" domain. researchIT CT is not responsible for the privacy practices or the content of these Web sites.

Security

This site has security measures in place to protect the loss, misuse, and alteration of the information under our control.

Contacting researchIT CT

If you have any questions about this privacy statement, the practices of this site, or your dealings with this site, you can contact:

researchIT CT
Connecticut State Library
786 South Main Street
Middletown, CT 06457
888-256-1222 (in CT)
860-704-2220

http://researchitct.org/contact-us/
 

Approved by the Connecticut Digital Library Advisory Board February 3, 2016

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.