Skip to main content

Court Information: Other State Courts

This research guide provides information and resources related to Connecticut State Courts, other State Courts, Federal Courts, and the United States Supreme CourtClick on the tabs above to access Connecticut State Library print and electronic resources, court websites, and other external links and resources.

Contact Us

Law Reading Room

Law & Legislative Reference Services

Case Law Research Databases

These subscription databases can be used with a Connecticut State Library Card.

The external links below are provided as an information service only. They provide free case law, but do not include a citator service.

Research Tip: State Supreme Courts

The highest court in a state is the final arbiter of state constitutional, statutory, and common law. All states have a supreme court, but they do not all use this term. For example, the highest court in New York is the Court of Appeals.

Connecticut State Library Resources

Our collection includes official court opinions from all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Please use our catalog search box below to locate these items. The coverage dates vary depending on the state.

 

‚ÄčOfficial State Reporter Volumes

 

For most states, you can search by title for the state name followed by the word reports. For example, searching Alaska Reports will bring you to our catalog entry for Alaska court decisions.

If the record location reads StLib Offsite, please contact us at 860-757-6500 prior to visiting to request that the items be retrieved from our offsite storage location. 

To access court opinions electronically, please see the Case Law Research Databases box in the left column on this page.

Please see a librarian if you need assistance with using our catalog or locating these materials. 

Search

Go directly to the digital collections homepage

View online images & documents from State Library collections

 
Loading

State Court Websites

National Reporter System - State

West's National Reporter System groups state caselaw into seven regional reporters. West includes unofficial editorial enhancements to facilitate the research process. The reporters and their citation abbreviations are:

 

  • North Western Reporter
    • N.W., N.W.2d
  • Pacific Reporter
    • P., P.2d, P.3d
  • North Eastern Reporter
    • N.E., N.E.2d
  • Atlantic Reporter
    • A., A.2d, A.3d
  • South Western Reporter
    • S.W., S.W.2d, S.W.3d
  • Southern Reporter
    • So., So.2d, So.3d
  • South Eastern Reporter
    • S.E., S.E.2d

 

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.