Skip to main content

Naturalization and Related Records

Related Records

Passenger lists can provide clues to the areas where an immigrant ancestor lived.  A standard source is William P. Filby's Passenger and Immigration Lists Index.  Try a keyword search for passenger lists in our online catalog to see what other published lists we hold.

State Archives Collections Related to Naturalization

The following collections contain information about foreign-born persons. For information about accessing original materials, please see the guide to Accessing Archives and Secured Collections below. These collections are also held at our offsite location.

Record Group 010, Records of the Department of Education. This collection includes some passports and birth certificates ca. 1870-1930, which foreign-born persons submitted to the Department of Education when applying for work permits. These have been digitized by Ancestry.com as Connecticut, School Age Certificates. See the link below.

Record Group 029, Records of the Connecticut Military Census.  Certain boxes contain lists of enemy aliens and miscellaneous materials relating to aliens. These have also been digitized by Ancestry.com as Connecticut, Military Census, 1917. See the link below.

Record Group 030, Records of the Council of Defense, 1917-1919.  This collections also contains lists of aliens by region of origin.

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.