Skip to main content

researchIT CT - Alternate Route: For College and University Libraries

Free Online Resources

Resources for Colleges & Universities

Resources for Colleges & Universities

Magazines and Journals  — All Subjects

Academic Search Premier
Provides an elaborate array of titles to cornerstone academia. Comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 or further for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,050 titles.

MainFILE
A multi-disciplinary database with coverage of all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. Includes more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals and nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires, and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias.

MasterFile Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.


EBSCOhost

researchIT CT OneSearch

E-Journal Finder
Tells you whether iCONN has a magazine, journal or newspaper in full text.

Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus
  Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

researchIT CT Newsstream (search all newspapers provided by ProQuest)*

Chicago Tribune (1985-present) (provided by ProQuest)

Christian Science Monitor (1988-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

Hartford Courant (1992-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

Los Angeles Times (1985-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

Newspaper Source Plus (search all newspapers provided by EBSCO)*

New York Times (1985-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

US Major Dailies (provided by ProQuest. Does not include the Hartford Courant)

Wall Street Journal (1984-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

Washington Post (1987-present) (provided by ProQuest)*

 

* These newspapers are automatically searched in researchIT CT OneSearch.

Business and Law

Legal Information Reference Center
Exclusive online full text for many top consumer legal reference books, full-text publications and legal forms, with more content added on a regular basis. Thousands of state-specific legal forms – searchable by top subject areas including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more.

 

History & Biography

Connecticut Digital Collections
Connecticut Digital Collections presents historical photographs, maps, manuscripts, oral histories and more from Connecticut libraries, museums, and historical societies.

Connecticut History Illustrated

Connecticut History Illustrated brings together the Connecticut history-related digital resources of libraries, archives, museums, galleries, historical societies and other cultural heritage institutions in Connecticut. It contains material as varied as the history of the state, from documents to images, from maps to audio and video covering the entire spectrum of work, play, and life in Connecticut.

Hartford Courant Historical (1764-1922)

History Reference Center
For upper grades, secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. Full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
Offering the original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan.

Biography Reference Center
Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.

CT State Library Collections in Ancestry.com
Connecticut State Library digital collections selected for searching in Ancestry.com.
Requires individual account creation for access.

Remembering World War One

Health and Science

CINAHL with Full Text
Nursing and allied health database.

PsycINFO
Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.

PubMed - National Library of Medicine
Biomedical and life science citations; links to full text articles and other related resources.

Science Reference Center
Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

GreenFILE
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

eAudio, eBooks and eReference

eAudio & eBooks
Over 2,800 nonfiction and fiction eAudio books and more than 900 eBooks that you can download to your computer for limited times. Apps are available for your iPhone, iPad, Android or Kindle Fire too. Holds and checkout require a valid CT public library card number.

Referencia Latina
A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interfaceis designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience.

Resources for K-12 Learning

CT State Library Collections in Ancestry.com

Connecticut State Library materials on Ancestry.com are not part of the Ancestry.com site that is commercially available to the public. To access the State Library's materials, you must create an individual account with Ancestry.com. In doing so, be aware that you may receive large amounts of e-mail from Ancestry.com - unless you choose to opt out of receiving those e-mails.
 
While searching, it is not easy to tell when you have left the State Library portion of Ancestry.com and entered the commercial portion; to continue into the commercial portion of Ancestry.com you must subscribe to the commercial service using your credit card for payment. If you don't wish to subscribe to Ancestry.com as an individual subscriber, visit your local library to see whether access to the commercial portion of Ancestry.com is available there.

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.