Skip to main content

LSTA Grants: Grant Writing

All the information you need to apply for and manage an LSTA grant.

Grant Writing Workshops

These free grant-related workshops are being offered by the CT State Library in January and February 2018:

  • Understanding Grant Guidelines and Responding to Requests for Proposals (RFPs) - January 23, 12:30-4:00 pm
  • How to Demonstrate Sustainability for Grant Projects Wednesday - February 14, 9 am-12:30 pm

All will be held at the Middletown Library Service Center. To register, go to the continuing education calendar.

Grant Writing Books at MLSC

The ALA Book of Library Grant Money

This all-in-one resource for researching library and school grants is back in a new edition, and more useful than ever, offering refreshed content and even more guidance on locating grant funding sources.

Collaborative Grant-Seeking

A collaborative approach to grant seeking can stimulate and reshape the culture of your library organization. This resource provides a complete guide for setting up a library grant-seeking program, and for combining forces with community partners to increase grant funding to libraries.

Librarian's Handbook for Seeking, Writing, and Managing Grants

Learn the dynamics of the grant-seeking process, including proposal writing and grant management, for public, school, and academic librarians.

Collaborative Grantseeking

This book offers a detailed analysis of the strategies and methodologies of successful collaborative grant writing, as well as practical guidance on the interpersonal leadership requirements of managing grantseeking projects.

The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing

Author Jane C. Geever provides detailed instructions on preparing successful grant proposals. Incorporating the results of 40 interviews with grantmakers across the nation, the Guide reveals their priorities in reviewing submissions and provides insight into what makes a winning proposal. The Guide outlines the entire proposal-writing process.

Go Get That Grant!

Designed for libraries and nonprofit organizations, Go Get That Grant! includes information about the types of grants available through government agencies and foundations, as well as how to locate funding opportunities. From gathering basic information about an organization through accepting and implementing grants, Gail Staines provides step-by-step expert advice, numerous examples, and proven writing strategies.

Grant Money Through Collaborative Partnerships

Because libraries are information and research centers, they can support a huge variety of grant funding initiatives outside their own purview. What's more, many libraries may find that collaborating on a grant application with another organization is preferable to going forward with a time-consuming application on their own. But finding the right collaborative partner and securing a place at its development table can be challenging.

Winning Library Grants

This text offers a practical and comprehensive manual that guides you through grant fundamentals.

Researching Prospective Donors

Individuals, not government sources or foundations, are the largest source of giving in the United States. Right now your community has individuals ready to become enthusiastic donors to your library. But how do you find the most likely prospective donors? This book describes how to identify and research prospects in your community using existing or easy-to-find resources, including publicly available information on individuals' wealth and assets.

Winning Grants

Newly revised and refreshed, this invaluable how-to manual will teach you the skills and strategies crucial for finding, applying for, and winning grants. Whether you're starting from scratch and don't know where to begin, or you're an experienced grant writer looking to tap into new funding sources, this resource offers a proven, easy-to-understand process for grant success.

The Only Grant-Writing Book You'll Ever Need

Written by two expert authors who have won millions of dollars in government and foundation grants--and revised to include vital up-to-the minute interviews with grantmakers, policy makers, and nonprofit leaders about seeking grants in today's economic climate--this new edition of the classic book on grant seeking provides a comprehensive, step-by-step guide for grant writers.

Additional Resources

The Foundation Center offers free webinars and self-paced eLearning courses on several grant-related topics.

The Chronicle of Philanthropy offers webinars (for a fee) on various aspects of grant writing.

Several public libraries in Connecticut partner with The Foundation Center to host collections of print and electronic resources on grants, foundations, and other fundraising topics. These sites also provide workshops and training. Find a location near you.

Loading

New Service Center Catalog

Search for

Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478
Disclaimers & Permissions | Privacy Policy | State of Connecticut Home Page

The State of Connecticut is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer and strongly encourages the applications of women, minorities, and persons with disabilities.