Skip to main content
Resources for Connecticut ILL staff members
- CLC ILL Roundtable Meetings:
- CLA-RSS, which stands for the Connecticut Library Association Resource Sharing Section. This section sponsors continuing education sessions at:
- CLA, which stands for Connecticut Library Association. Their conference is usually in the spring. Check the Events section of the CLA site.
- CLASS, which stands for Connecticut Library Association Support Staff section. Their conference is usually in the fall. Check the Events section of the CLA site.
- Connecticut State Library's Continuing Education Calendar
deliverIT CT (formerly Connecticar or Ccar)
ILL Mentors in Connecticut
- Have an ILL question? The following are willing to share their knowledge and experience to help answer your ILL questions:
Other Connecticut-specific ILL Resources
- Book Discussion Sets available from the Library Service Centers - See "Programming Materials" box at the bottom of this page.
- Information on findIT CT - the statewide library catalog
- Information on requestIT CT - statewide ILL service
- Public Libraries in Connecticut via Google Maps
- borrowIT CT (formerly Connecticard) - the 'cooperative program among public libraries in Connecticut that allows a resident of any town in the state who holds a valid borrower card issued by their home library to use that card to borrow materials from any of the 192 public libraries participating in the program.'
Other ILL Resources Outside of Connecticut
- ALA ILL Loan Form:
- ALA Library Fact Sheet 8 - Interlibrary Loan - provides links to the ALA ILL Code for the United States and information on international borrowing.
- ALA RUSA STARS - which stands for Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section, or STARS, of the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) of the American Library Association (ALA). Includes:
- ShareILL - 'a gateway to electronic and print resources pertaining to all aspects of interlibrary loan (ILL), document delivery, and resource sharing.'
- Directory of OCLC Libraries
This guide contains links to resources relevant to those who work in or are interested in Interlibrary Loan in Connecticut libraries.
ILL - Items from the Service Centers
Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan on a Shoestring by Written specifically for libraries facing budgetary constraints, limited resources and inadequate training, this invaluable guide outlines the time-management skills and technical ingenuity that will help transform Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and document delivery service into an efficient and organized operation. Author Emily Knox considers the unique challenges of ILL for the librarian juggling multiple roles, and provides a comprehensive overview of best practices, policies and service guidelines that can be easily and practically applied no matter how busy you are. Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan on a Shoestring provides a jargon-free breakdown of the laws, codes and regulations that govern ILL and document delivery policy decisions. There is guidance to help you develop compliant and cost effective policies, streamline borrowing and lending procedures, and optimize workflow. While there is a thorough overview of the field's newest time-saving technologies, Knox also explains the many ways in which smaller institutions can go paperless for less, with practical tips for using widely available office technology and free open source products to receive and track ILL and document delivery transactions. The book also includes helpful illustrations and appendices with templates for easily reproducible forms, as well as examples of best practices and real life policies used in both public and academic libraries.
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Interlibrary Loan Practices Handbook, 3rd Edition by In their definitive new Interlibrary Loan Practices Handbook, editors Weible and Janke clearly explain the complexities of getting materials for patrons from outside the library. This collection presents a complete view of the interlibrary loan (ILL) process, with contributions from all areas of the technical services community, providing Guidance on how to do ILL efficiently and effectively, with advice on how to be a considerate borrower and lender Details of preferred staffing and management techniques, showing how best practices can be implemented at any institution Discussion of important issues that can fall between the cracks, such as hidden copyright issues, and the logistics of lending internationally Consortia and other library partnerships are now sharing ever larger fractions of their collections, and this book gives library staff the tools necessary for a smoothly functioning ILL system.
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Library Information and Resource Sharing by Through the perspectives of interlibrary loan (ILL) specialists, this book examines what ILL departments are doing, the value of ILL librarians in the evolving library environment, and how library collections and services are being affected by new ILL policies. * Taps a knowledge base of more than a dozen ILL practitioners who offer diverse viewpoints on all that ILL specialists can do to help connect people and information * Enables library administrators, whose support ILL needs to succeed, to grasp how ILL is essential to fulfilling the information-sharing mission of all librarians * Emphasizes how the ever-increasing interconnections between ILL and other areas of library activity behoove non-ILL librarians to be more aware of emerging ILL developments
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Resource Sharing Today by Budget constraints challenge collection development in unprecedented ways. Collection development has increasingly become a cooperative effort among libraries in geographic proximity. When their own library doesn't have certain books or journals, users turn to interlibrary loan to obtain the resources they need. However, many library science degree programs don't cover interlibrary loan. Resource Sharing Today is a practical guide to resource sharing starting with the library across town and ending with libraries on the other side of the globe. Chapters cover everything from the ALA's interlibrary loan form to successful innovations such as Virginia Tech's ILLiad to New York's IDS (Information Delivery Service). Appendices include regional, state, national, and international ILL codes, ALA and IFLA forms, open access agreements, and purchase on demand plans.
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
This page is maintained by staff from the
Connecticut State Library | Division of Library Development | Contact Us
Connecticut State Library | 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 | 860-757-6500 * Toll-free 866-886-4478