Financial Literacy

"... financial literacy is the ability to understand how money works. This refers to making decisions about personal finances and having the skills to make decisions that will have positive outcomes. It is widely agreed-upon that good money management skills are essential for a successful life."

From: http://www.ala.org/acrl/publications/keeping_up_with/financial_literacy

Visit the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's Financial Terms Glossary for teaching financial literacy topics.

Connecticut Saves is a campaign coordinated by the University of Connecticut Extension with the support of partners, including the Connecticut State Library, to help individuals save money and reduce their debt.  Connecticut Saves offers tips, tools, and strategies for individuals to reach their financial goals.  Click UConn Extension Financial Education for more resources.

The Department of Banking mission is to protect users of financial services from unlawful or improper practices by requiring that regulated entities and individuals adhere to the law, assuring the safety and soundness of state chartered banks and credit unions, educating and communicating with the public and other stakeholders, and promoting cost-efficient and effective regulation.

The Office of the State Treasurer aims to improve the financial literacy of Connecticut residents.  Financial education programs and related links are provided on their web site. 

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau site offers resources for librarians including program ideas, a partnership guide, links to web resources, marketing materials and free print materials, and monthly webinars for librarians. CFPB has developed a "Your Money, Your Goals" toolkit as well.

The Connecticut Partnership for Long-Term Care is a program of the Office of Policy and Management.  The Connecticut Partnership provides public forums and programming on long-term care and protection of your assets/investments.

The Connecticut Money School (CMS) is a project of the Connecticut Association for Human Services and five nonprofit partners.  They provide free financial education classes for adults and seniors with topics such as Debt, Saving, Credit, Loans, Homeownership and Senior Issues.  They also have a free, online financial education program called "Financial Avenue" that teaches adults and young adults the keys to financial success.

For those interested in children's programming, ALA’s Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC) is a supporter of the ‘Money as You Grow’ website which has age-appropriate financial lessons and activities for each age group.

Better Business Bureau serving Connecticut helps people find businesses and charities they can trust.  Find the BBB near you and check out the programs and services offered for consumers and businesses.  The Connecticut Small Business Development Center (CTSBDC) provides free business advising to small business owners and entrepreneurs to start, grow and thrive in Connecticut. The Connecticut Small Business Development Center is funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Small Business Administration, the Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development and UConn. 

Consumer Reports

Kiplinger's Personal Finance

Wall Street Journal

Financial Literacy Education in Libraries: Guidelines and Best Practices for Service 

Community Partnership Guidebook for Libraries

Financial Literacy in Public Libraries: A Guide for Building Collections

From the ALA guide: This core collection "includes items to help library patrons improve their fundamental personal finance knowledge and skills, while addressing key money decisions across the lifecycle. This collection emphasizes resources suitable for general audiences seeking reliable, up-to-date information across a range of everyday financial topics."  It covers collections from children to adults.

Teacher Online Resource Center

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) are working together to make it easier for schools to bring financial education into the classroom by developing a one-stop-shop for educators. Here you will find tools to help you teach financial education including lesson plans, videos, and other resources.